SPEAKERS BUREAU

This list was used as a resource to help the community choose topics and speakers to share the stories of Tuscaloosa signature events, engage audiences about our community's history and reflect on the future for all citizens of Tuscaloosa.

(Hover over each photo for a description)

Topics Related to Signature Events 
Yvonne Wells

Internationally Known Folk Artist and Quilter

The Creation of Tuscaloosa's Bicentennial Quilt

wells6868@aol.com

205-393-4921

Caleb O'Connor

Artist

Historical Context of Sculptures Created for the Bicentennial Murals in the Federal Courthouse

Artistoconnor@yahoo.com

808-385-0636

Guy W. Hubbs

Author of The History of Tuscaloosa (University of Alabama Press 2019)

Tuscaloosa: Where the Past Lives with Today

ghubbs@bsc.edu

205-535-2858

Ian Crawford

Creator of the Tuscaloosa Walking Tour app, UA faculty member and co-chair of the Tuscaloosa 200 Education Committee

Tuscaloosa's Architectural History

Antebellum Gardens of Alabama

Challenges and Success in Historic Preservation

Lost Buildings of Alabama

Chasian@gmail.com

334-332-1768

Carolyn Breckinridge

Author of Novels set in Tuscaloosa

Turning Fact into Fiction

cezell668@aol.com

205-345-0071

205-799-1085

History & Civil Rights
Literature
Dr. Scott Bridges

President, Tuscaloosa Civil Rights History Trail Foundation

The Tuscaloosa Civil Rights History Trail: Eighteen sites and eighteen stories

The Rosenwald "School of Hope" and Black Education at the turn of the 20th Centry

sbridges@ua.edu

205-292-0738

Donald Brown

Author and Former Executive Editor of the Tuscaloosa News

A Journalist's Perspective of Tuscaloosa in 2019: How did we get here?

donaldabrownauthor@gmail.com

205-348-9758

Dr. Ian W. Brown

Professor​, Department of Anthropology, University of Alabama

Tuscaloosa Cemeteries

ibrown@ua.edu

205-345-0071

205-348-9758

Milton Denny

Author, Land Survey Historian, Professional Land Surveyor

Tuscaloosa, Canebrake and the Black Warrior River at the time of Statehood 1819: A study on the beginnings of Tuscaloosa and the importance of the Black Warrior River.

Beginning of the Government Land System in Alabama and the role it played in the future of Tuscaloosa from 1805 until 1855: What happened to cities that existed before the rectangular system was started, how it affects Tuscaloosa Today.

Warrior River boat traffic from 1800 until 1950's: From Indian Canoes to Keel boats to Paddlewheel boats to modern Tug boats. The history of locks and dams that made the Black Warrior  a year around river.

mdenny5541@aol.com

205-799-7980

Jim Ezell

Historian and "Tales of Tuscaloosa" Columnist for Druid City Living Magazine

 

Sharing "Tales" from Tuscaloosa's 200-Year History

jimtu814@aol.com

205-345-0071

Steve Davis

Historian, The Alabama Department of Mental Health

 

Ellen Peter-Bryce: First  Lady of Bryce

Records of Bryce Hospital: What's there, what's not and what is available to the public​

steve.davis@bryce.mh.alabama.gov

205-507-8330

Robert Heath

Dean of Sheppard Library, Stillman College

History of Stillman College

rheath@stillman.edu

205-366-8851

Dr. Howard Jones

UA Professor of History Emeritus, Author of Mutiny on the Amistad

Stephen Spielberg's invitation to the Joneses to visit the Hollywood set during the filming of the movie "Amistad," based on the true story of the events in 1839 aboard the slave ship La Amistad.

hjones@ua.edu

205-339-5044

205-799-2052

Richard Rhone

Retired Educator and OLLI Program Presenter

Biographical Sketches (in costume) of Historical Leaders of Tuscaloosa and Alabama

rrhone8@comcast.net

205-462-0813

Chris McIlwain

Attorney and Historian

Alabama in the Civil War

Alabama in 1865

Alabamians and the Lincoln Assassination

Cmcilwain@hubbardfirm.com

205-345-6789

Al Spencer

Vice President for Economic Development and Public Policy for the Chamber of Commerce of West Alabama​

Tuscaloosa's Economic Highs and Lows through 200 Years

al@tuscaloosachamber.com

205-391-0329

Dr. Doug Phillips

Environmental Educator and Executive Producer, Discovering Alabama

Celebrating the Natural Resources of Tuscaloosa and Alabama

drdoug@discoveringalabama.org

205-348-2039

Danny Steele

Community Activist

"In their own words": An evening with Tuscaloosa foot soldiers and their battle for citizenship

steeledr380@bellsouth.net

205-886-0471

Tuscaloosa Area Virtual Museum Volunteers

Jennie Claybrook

History and future of this free Digital Museum

tavm@tuscaloosa-library.org

205-348-5820

Tuscaloosa Children's Theatre

What's Your Story? Tuscaloosa's history is told through music and performed by children. The 30-minute presentation, written by Richard and Mary Livingston, will be performed in locations requested after March 1, 2019

rmlivings@comcast.net

205-393-8595

Taylor Watson

Curator, the Paul W. Bryant Museum

Stripped Down: A Story of Tuscaloosa's Most Colorful Quarter Mile. Memories made on "The Strip" are kept for a lifetime​

twatson@bama.ua.edu

205-348-9365

Willie Wells

Cordell Wynn Humanities and Fine Arts Center, Stillman College

Bloody Tuesday

wwells@stillman.edu

205-355-8871